June 29 2011

Memories of Ice

Memories of Ice by Steven Erikson is the third book in Erikson’s “Malazan Book of the Fallen” series. It brings us back to the main storyline and characters of Gardens of the Moon. Almost immediately upon rejoining the storyline, the story begins to expand. We learn more about the Crippled God and his plans. That is a tale that will take us through the remainder of the series (7 more books from Erikson alone.) We also begin to learn about the immediate threat in the novel–the Pannion Seer.
With this book, Erikson continues to show the mastery of storytelling that we saw in Gardens and Deadhouse Gates. He intersperses major scenes of battle with finely drawn scenes of personal loss and triumph. He really knows how to tug on the emotions of the reader, going from triumph to tragedy and back.
We get a fair amount of detail filled in with this volume, but at the same time we get a sense of things to come and things only partially glimpsed.
For big scenes, there is the siege of Capustan and the arrival of Moon’s Spawn. But, there are also a myriad of finely drawn, tight focus scenes on characters. There are Toc and Tool, Whiskeyjack and Korlat, and the various Bridgeburners.
We also get references both back to the first two books and forward to all of the books in the series. Once you have finished the series, it is amazing to go back and encounter references that you won’t see again for multiple volumes. For instance, we hear about Drift Avalii and the new “Emperor of the Edur”. Extremely intricately crafted. It really is a “dance of mysteries.”
All of this is to say, I really enjoyed this book.

Copyright 2020. All rights reserved.

Posted June 29, 2011 by user in category "Book review

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *